Awards and Recognition

The Everett Cherrington Hughes Award

The Everett Cherrington Hughes Award for Careers Scholarship recognizes scholarship that has made a significant contribution to the task of linking careers theory with the broader field of organization studies. It is the Careers Division’s premier award, a way of honoring those who have worked to build bridges between careers and other areas of organizational enquiry.

The aim of this award is to acknowledge the work of scholars who have forged, rather than severed, connections between careers and other fields of social inquiry. The award carries, with the permission of his family, the name of Everett Cherrington Hughes. It does so to commemorate his seminal role in establishing careers as an object of scholarly study, but more particularly because it rewards the kind of contribution his work embodied. Past recipients of the award are: Edgar Schein, Tim Hall, Lotte Bailyn, Michael Arthur, Jeffrey Greenhaus, Barbara Lawrence, Kathy Kram, and John Van Mannen.

 This year’s winner is Denise Rousseau (Carnegie Mellon U.)


 Edgar Schein 



 Tim Hall



 Lotte Bailyn



 Michael Arthur



 Jeffrey Greenhaus



 Barbara Lawrence



 Kathy Kram



 John van Maanen


 denise rosseau

  Denise Rosseau