International Management IM

Webinar on the Future of International Business Teaching in a post COVID-19 world this Wednesday June 10th

  • 1.  Webinar on the Future of International Business Teaching in a post COVID-19 world this Wednesday June 10th

    Posted 06-08-2020 11:58

    Dear IM Division Members:
    This is a reminder about the AOM IM Division's Webinar on the Future of International Business Teaching in a post COVID-19 world this Wednesday, June 10th at 10am US East Cost Time, 16:00 Central Europe Time.  We hope many of you will decide to join to discuss this theme which is affecting all of us.  There will be ample opportunity to ask questions. Best wishes, Carl

     

    IM Division Webinar Series

    The Future of International Business Teaching: Content and Methods in a post COVID-19 World

    Carl Fey, Professor, Aalto University School of Business

    Sri Zaheer, Dean, Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota

    Harry Lane, Professor, D'Amore-McKim School of Business, Northeastern University

    Andreas Schotter, Associate Professor, Ivey School of Business, Western University

     

    June 10th at 10am US East Coast time, 8:00am US Mountain time, 11:00 Brazil time (BRT); 15:00 UK time, 16:00 Central European Time, 19:30 Indian Time, 22:00 Chinese time

     

    COVID-19 has quickly changed the way business schools work at least short-term. The important questions which we now need to turn our attention to are (A) what content, (B) what teaching methods, and (C) what program designs should business schools use/cover post COVID-19 to thrive? More specifically, during the webinar we will explore from the panelists' perspective if the content we teach in international business courses will stay the same? We will also consider if there are limits of international business and how will we recommend that firms design their global value chains in the future? As emerging markets like China, which are less well-known to many and quickly growing in economic importance should business schools increase the amount we teach about doing business in China and other emerging markets as part of programs? We will also discuss what teaching methods have so far proven most successful for on-line courses/components of courses. Further, we will discuss how to best develop the ability to use these methods effectively? We will also discuss if many more on-line or blended programs will emerge or if most programs will return to being face to face. We will also explore if student makeup will remain as international as it has been in many business schools and if exchange programs and other international experience elements of programs will retain their previous importance. We will discuss these and many other questions as part of this webinar. There will be ample opportunity to ask questions. If you have any questions, please contact carl.fey@aalto.fi.

     

    To join the webinar in zoom go to:

    https://aalto.zoom.us/j/63856543023

    Meeting ID: 638 5654 3023

    To join via phone go to:

    One tap mobile, +358942451488,,63856543023# or Dial by your location +358 9 4245 1488 Finland +1 408 652 8184 US (San Jose) +1 929 436 2866 US (New York) For other locations find your local number at: https://aalto.zoom.us/u/cb027hUXYn

     

    Dr. Carl F. Fey

    Professor of International Business

    International Business Unit

    Aalto University School of Business

    Helsinki, Finland

    Tel. +358-50-408-1070

    carl.fey@aalto.fi

    skype: carlfey

    wechat: carlfey

    Deputy Editor, Management and Organization Review