ACM Collective Intelligence Conference 2020

Starts:  Feb 2, 2020 5:34 AM (HAST)
Ends:  Mar 2, 2020 5:34 AM (HAST)

The ACM Collective Intelligence 2020 is the eighth edition of this annual interdisciplinary conference sponsored by SIGCHI dedicated to advancing our understanding of collective intelligence. The conference will take place at Northeastern University in Boston, MA and Copenhagen Business School in Copenhagen, Denmark on June 18-19, 2020. 

We are happy to announce that CI 2020 will pioneer a multi-site conference format, with the conference occurring at two locations simultaneously: Boston, Massachusetts, and Copenhagen, Denmark. Presenters can choose which site they want to attend, and all plenary and breakout sessions in each site will be available for viewing and question-asking from the other site. Additional cross-site activities will be arranged at breaks and in special sessions. We expect this multi-site format to reduce the conference’s carbon footprint and to increase the number of people who can attend. 

Conference website:

Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • Collective creativity and innovation
  • Collective decision making and problem-solving
  • Ethics of collective intelligence
  • Emergence and evolution of intelligence in biological systems
  • New technologies for making groups smarter
  • Citizen engagement and participation
  • Group memory and extended cognition
  • Human computation
  • Computational models of groups
  • Social computing
  • Crowdsourcing
  • Crowdfunding
  • Wisdom of crowds (e.g., prediction markets)
  • Open source intelligence and investigation
  • Citizen science
  • Organizational design and strategy
  • Ethics of collective intelligence  
  • Artificial intelligence and collaboration
  • Collective computation
  • Swarming & synchronicity
  • Voting and incentive mechanism design
  • Collective forecasting / super forecasting

Important Dates:

  • Nov 5, 2019 Call for Abstracts
  • February 1, 2020 Submission for Abstracts Opens
  • February 1, 2020 Registration Opens
  • March 1, 2020 Extended Abstract Submission Deadline
  • April 1, 2020 Notifications
  • April 10, 2020 Early Bird Registration Ends
  • April 15, 2020 Program Announcement
  • May 10, 2020 Regular Registration Ends
  • June 18-19, 2020 Collective Intelligence 2020


We accept four-page abstracts for the following kinds of submissions:

  • Reports of Original Research
  • Demonstrations of Tools/Technology/Experiments

Submissions are 3 pages of text plus 1 page for references. All submissions must indicate whether the authors plan to present their work at the Boston site or at the Copenhagen site.  You are encouraged to include a graphical abstract in the submission. Note that some research or practice papers may be assigned as posters, depending on the number of submissions and room capacity of the venue. 

Proceedings. CI’2020 does not publish archival proceedings of submissions (i.e., not published on ACM Digital Library). However, we plan to post a “book of abstracts” on the CI’20 website to make submissions available to other participants and to spur interaction.

To submit an abstract, please visit our website during the submission window: 

Organizing Committee

Conference Chairs

  • Christoph Riedl, Northeastern University, Boston, MA

Program Chairs

  • Jessica Flack, Santa Fe Institute, Santa Fe, NM
  • Walter S. Lasecki, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI
  • Iain Couzin, Max Planck Institute of Animal Behavior & University of Konstanz, Germany 

Program Committee

  • Steven Gray (Michigan State University)
  • Sabine Hauert (University of Bristol)
  • Antonie Jetter (Portland State University) 
  • Malte F. Jung (Cornell)
  • Ari Kokko (Copenhagen Business School)
  • Sang Won Lee (Virginia Tech)
  • Richard Mann (University of Leeds)
  • Kevin O'Keeffe (MIT)
  • Scott Page (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)
  • Orit Peleg (University of Colorado Boulder)
  • Lex Paulson (UM6P School of Collective Intelligence)
  • Jesse Shore (Boston University)
  • Klaus Solberg Søilen (Halmstad University)
  • Thalia Wheatley (Dartmouth College)
  • Melissa Valentine (Stanford University)


Dial-in Instructions:
Attend conference in either Boston or Copenhagen
Online Instructions:
Event Image


Christoph Riedl