Discussion: View Thread

Keith G. Provan Distinguished Scholar Award: Call for Nominations (HCM Division)

  • 1.  Keith G. Provan Distinguished Scholar Award: Call for Nominations (HCM Division)

    Posted 03-17-2020 11:40

    Keith G. Provan Distinguished Scholar Award


    The Award: This award recognizes a member of the HCM division who has developed a record of high quality scholarly research in health care management. The research may be traditional or innovative, but it must demonstrate conceptual and methodological rigor. The award winner will receive a plaque and recognition at the AOM Annual Meeting.  The selected researcher will have the honor of giving a lecture at University of Arizona where Provan had been the McClelland Professor of Management. The University of Arizona Eller College of Management Center for Management Innovations in Healthcare sponsors the award, including travel expenses related to the lecture.


    Awardee Selection: The award winner will have contributed to scholarship in health care management through high-quality research. Evidence of contribution may take various forms. At a minimum, the awardee will have an exemplary record of publishing high-quality research in major academic journals. The awardee also may have contributed to the field through editorial work, serving either as an editor or editorial board member for major journals in health care management. The awardee's entire portfolio of contribution to and impact on the scholarly field of health care management will be considered. 


    Nomination Procedures: Nominations should be submitted to Ingrid Nembhard (ingridn@wharton.upenn.edu), Chair of the AOM HCM Research Committee, by Thursday, April 30, 2020. Anonymous nominations will not be accepted, but individuals may self-nominate. As per the HCM by-laws, nominations should include:

    1. a nomination letter which articulates the nominee's research contributions;
    2. the nominee's current CV;
    3. at least two impartial letters commenting on the nominee's qualifications to receive the award; and
    4. copies of two published articles as examples of academic scholarship.


    The award recipient will be selected by committee.


    The selection committee looks forward to receiving your nominations.