Technology and Innovation Management TIM

AOM 2021 Presenter Symposium on "Platforms and Ecosystems: Building and Sustaining Competitive Advantages"

  • 1.  AOM 2021 Presenter Symposium on "Platforms and Ecosystems: Building and Sustaining Competitive Advantages"

    Posted 10 days ago

    ***Apologies for cross-posting.***


    We cordially invite you to participate in the presenter symposium on "Platforms and Ecosystems: Building and Sustaining Competitive Advantages"at the Academy of Management Annual Meeting 2021 on Tuesday, August 3rd, 2021, 2:00 PM -3:30 PM (EDT).


    Virtual session type: Synchronous Live Presenter

    Link to the session:  https://2021.aom.org/meetings/virtual/THmdvpCZjikCrF9yb


    Overview

    Over the last decade, platforms have become an indispensable form of economic transactions in many industries and attracted attention from academic scholars and policymakers alike. In this symposium, we bring together a group of panelists to share their insights on how platforms can design and implement efficient strategies to foster engagement and cooperation among third-party participants (i.e., users and complementors). The panelists come from diverse theoretical perspectives and employ diverse methodologies. By sharing recent advances and ongoing research in the field, this symposium aims to advance our understanding on how platforms can build and sustain their competitive advantages by influencing and leveraging their participants.


    Presentations and presenters (* denotes the presenter)

    • "Promoting Platform Takeoff and Self-Fulfilling Expectations: Field Experimental Evidence" by Kevin Boudreau*
    • "How Incentive Structure Affects the Effectiveness of Referral Strategy" by Qiang (John) Li, Bo Zhao, and Xun (Brian) Wu*
    • "Feeding Chickens: Anonymity in the Context of Organizational Resource Exchange Platforms" by Maren Mickeler, Pooyan Khashabi, Marco Kleine, and Tobias Kretschmer*
    • "Managing Ecosystem's Innovation Trajectory through Sponsoring a few Complementary Products" by Shiva Agarwal*, Martin Ganco, and Cameron Miller
    • "Technological Convergence or Divergence? Platform Standardization and Complementors' Search" by Cameron Miller*, Puay Khoon Toh, and Eugene Pyun

    Organizers:


    Sponsors: STR, TIM


    Event time and date:

    • 14:00 – 15:30 Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) on Tuesday, August 3rd
    • 19:00 – 20:30 British Summer Time (BST) on Tuesday, August 3rd
    • 20:00 – 21:30 Central European Summer Time (CEST) on Tuesday, August 3rd
    • 02:00 – 03:30 China Standard Time (CST) on Wednesday, August 4th

    Please feel free to reach out to us if you have any questions.

    We look forward to seeing you virtually!


    Christine and David



    ------------------------------
    Christine Choi
    Ann Arbor MI
    ------------------------------