The Research Methods Division of the Academy of Management is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s awards. The awards were announced in our business meeting at AOM in Boston and we were very happy to be able to celebrate with most of you in person. Congratulations to all the winners, and many thanks to all those that participated in this process!

2023 Sage Publications/RMD Distinguished Career Award:

James LeBreton, Pennsylvania State University

2023 Sage Publications/RMD/Lawrence R. James Early Career Award:

Zhenyu Yuan, University of Illinois Chicago

2023 Sage Publications/Robert McDonald Advancement of Organizational Research Methodology Award:

Hill, A. D., Johnson, S. G., Greco, L. M., O’Boyle, E. H., & Walter, S. L. (2021). Endogeneity: A review and agenda for the methodology-practice divide affecting micro and macro research. Journal of Management, 47(1), 105-143.

2023 Sage Publications/RMD Best Paper Award:

Testing Interaction Effects: Overcoming the Limitations of the Product Term

Torsten Biemann, University of Mannheim & Jeremy Dawson, University of Sheffield

2023 SAGE/RMD Best Student Paper Award:

Using Counterfactuals for Theory Building in Management and Organization Studies

Gizem Kadioglu, U della Svizzera Italiana, Bareerah Hafeez Hoorani, Nijmegen School of Management, & Michael Gibbert, U della Svizzera Italiana

2023 RMD Best PDW Award Winner:

"Endogeneity: Myths, Legends, and Facts – Second Annual"

Organized by Elle Yoon (Iowa State University) and Daniel Gamache (University of Georgia) Presented by John Busenbark (University of Notre Dame), Lindsey Greco (Oklahoma State University), Scott Johnson (Iowa State University), and Michael Withers (Texas A&M University)

A huge amount of thanks goes to our committee members who spent a significant amount of time and effort selecting the award winners.

2023 Awards Committee Members:

Non-voting members:

  • Betty Zhou, University of Minnesota (ex-officio, program chair; Advancement of ORM Award)
  • Lindsey Greco, Oklahoma State University (chair; Sage Publications/RMD: Distinguished Career Award, Early Career Award, AOM Best Paper Award, AOM Best Student Paper Award)

Voting Members:

  • Dan Beal, Virginia Tech
  • Louis Tay, Purdue University
  • Jeremy Dawson, University of Sheffield
  • Yihao Liu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Trevis Certo, Arizona State University
  • Marcia Simmering, Louisiana Tech
  • Margaret Luciano, Penn State
  • Nikos Dimotakis, Oklahoma State University

2022 RMD Best PDW Award Committee:

Non-voting members:

  • Betty Zhou, University of Minnesota (Co-Chair)
  • Andreas Schwab, Iowa State University (Co-Chair)

Voting Members:

  • Jeremy Dawson, University of Sheffield
  • Markus Fitza, Frankfurt School of Finance & Management
  • Jason Huang, Michigan State University
  • Yihao Liu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

*Individuals were removed from the voting process involving any awards with which they had a conflict of interest.