Ned Smith Rising Star Award

The OMT Ned Smith Rising Star Award recognizes an OMT scholar who has established a research record of exceptional quality and creativity early in their career. As an individual, the recipient of the OMT Ned Smith Rising Star award has influenced the field of organizational and management theory through bridging academic disciplines and spanning boundaries between research traditions, scholarly conversations, or between different societal stakeholder groups. In addition to their own stellar research and publications, the award winner has made a strong impression on the next generation of organization and management scholars through their outstanding mentoring, advising and encouragement. The Ned Smith Rising Star Award is presented every other year. Eligible for nominations are OMT members within 10 years (excluding leaves) of completing their PhD. The award is established in honor of Edward "Ned" Bishop Smith (1981-2021). It will be awarded for the first time in 2023.

2023 Ned Smith Rising Star Award

Julia DiBenigno
Yale University