2019 Scott DeRue

Scott DeRue
Sponsored by the Centre for Workplace Excellence, University of South Australia

OB Division Cummings Scholarly Achievement Award honors the achievement of an early- to mid- career scholar. The award was created in honor of the late Professor Larry Cummings.

The 2019 recipient of the Cummings Scholarly Achievement Award is Scott DeRue!

Scott is the Edward J. Frey Dean of the Stephen M. Ross School of Business at the University of Michigan. He is also the Stephen M. Ross Professor of Business.

The award committee had the following to say about Scott:

“Scott DeRue has an impressive record of research productivity since receiving his Ph.D. in 2007, having published over 40 articles and chapters (including over 20 in top-tier management and applied psychology journals) and one book. Scott’s research has had a significant scholarly impact in the field of Organizational Behavior, particularly in two areas. First, he has advanced understanding of leadership development through his empirical and conceptual work, outlining the dynamic process of mutual and reciprocal exchange of identities between leaders and followers, and how leadership skill development unfolds as a function of experience and developmental challenges. Second, Scott has contributed to theory and research in the teams literature, clarifying how team effectiveness is influenced by the composition of the work group and how person-team fit evolves over time. As evidence of his impact, Scott’s work has been cited more than 8,000 times, with an h-index of 31 (according to Google Scholar). Lastly, Scott has served as Dean of University of Michigan’s Ross School of Business since 2017, where he is putting his research of leadership and teamwork into practice as a leader of a top 20 business school. Scott is a prolific scholar with a strong reputation, and exceptionally well deserving of the OB Division’s Cummings Scholarly Achievement Award 2019.”

Congratulations, Scott! And thank you to the award committee: Russell Johnson (Chair), Blake Ashforth, Talya Bauer, Gary Latham, Ron Piccolo, and Sabine Sonnentag.