Societal Impact Award

Sponsored by The University of Exeter 

Scholarly work with societal impact is both scientifically credible and useful to society; it produces societally beneficial knowledge that aims to make the world a better place.  This work will often address, but is not limited to, the United Nation’s Sustainable Development Goals, for example: health and well-being, income and social inequality, and the preservation of the environment. In order to both recognize and incentivize such work in organizational behavior, the OB Division is inviting nominations for the OB Division Award for Societal Impact.


This award recognizes a body of work, rather than a single conference submission or published article, given that scholarship addressing grand societal problems is often incredibly challenging, unfolding over many years of persistence. The work may be published in traditional research outlets; however, it can also be evidenced in monographs, policy papers, books, curriculum, or interventions that may not receive recognition in other forums. Yet, through its application of organizational behavior scholarship, it has the potential to change the world. The award winner will be announced at the Academy of Management conference.


To be eligible for this award, the scholar’s work must:

(1) Use organizational behavior knowledge to address problem(s) that relate to timely and important societal challenges in the business, economic, societal or environmental spheres

(2) Demonstrate strong credibility through rigorous methods, analysis, and/ or application

(3) Inform and provide actionable insights for policies or practices to improve the wellbeing and performance of people (employees, managers, customers, suppliers), organizations, and/ or societies.

The deadline to submit for the 2024 OB Division Societal Impact Award is February 20, 2024 using this link.

The winner of 2023: Anne Tsui

The nominators described her contributions to society as “remarkable – broad in their scope and profound in their impact” and her as a “consummate advocate of societal impact – both through her writings and through her institution building” who has “spearheaded the creation of an entire social movement within academia to recognize and catalyze research that benefits society.”

Past award winners: