2017 Fred Luthans

Sponsored by Annual Review of Organizational Psychology and Organizational Behavior

The OB Division's Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes senior scholars who have contributed to our discipline throughout their careers. The 2017 recipient of this award is Fred Luthans! 

Here is his acceptance address:

Fred is Emeritus, University and George Holmes Distinguished Professor of Management at the University of Nebraska. As the Award Committee and Nominators aptly noted:
Fred Luthans stands out as an extraordinarily deserving recipient of the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award. In a career spanning 50+ years Professor Luthans has established a record of scholarship rarely achieved in the field of OB. Fred’s contributions began with some of the core foundational work in Organizational Behavior (such as OB Modification) and today he continues to make impactful contributions in areas such as Positive OB and Positive Psychological Capital. The volume of his work is astounding with approximately 200 articles and a dozen books published over five decades. The impact of Fred’s work is impressive, with citation counts of about 48,000 on Google Scholar. Fred has played a pioneering and crucial role in determining how we define the field of OB, and how we translate OB research into practice with his authorship of one of the first OB textbooks and his long-term leadership of one of the highest-impact translational journals, Organizational Dynamics (Editor from 1989 to 2015). Fred served as President of the Academy of Management and of the Midwest Academy of Management. Fred has received numerous teaching and research awards, and he has mentored approximately 65 doctoral students who served on faculties in such universities as Wisconsin, Nebraska, Washington, Kentucky, Notre Dame, ASU, Iowa State, LSU, University of Miami, Florida State, Georgetown, National University of Singapore, Akron, Oregon State, and Australian Graduate School of Management. All of these are indicators of a scholar who is most deserving of the OB Division’s Lifetime Achievement Award.
Many thanks to the award committee: Anne O’Leary-Kelly (Chair), David Day, Don Ferrin, Carrie Leana and Mary Waller.