Awards & Competitions

Awards & Competitions

Dark Side Case Competition

The Dark Side Case Competition is designed to encourage and acknowledge case writing that addresses the dark side of contemporary capitalism. Details for the 2019 competition and information about past years’ winners can be found here. This award is sponsored by Sobey School of business.

Dark Side Case Study Competition Winners 2019, Stefanie Ruel, Concordia University,
“Rogue One: The Canadian Space Agency and Understanding the (Non) Inclusive Organization” (with Virpi Malin)

Annual Awards

Best Critical Paper

Each year the Division awards a prize for Best Paper from the main scholarly program. This prize is sponsored by the journal Organization and Durham University Business SchoolHere are the previous winners.


Best Critical Paper 2018, Daniel Nyberg, University of Newcastle and Christopher Wright, Munich University of Sydney,“Making Climate Change Fit for Capitalism: The Corporate Translation of Climate Adaptation”


Best Doctoral Student Paper

Each year an award is made by the Division for the Best Student Paper. Here are details of what counts as an eligible entry for this competition. This award is sponsored by the journal Organization.

Best Doctoral Student Paper 2019, Shalini , Indian Institue of management, ‘Entrepreunership Discourse as a Cultural Tool to Gain Legitimacy: The Case of Uber and Ola in India’ 


Best International Business Paper

The Division also makes an award for Best International Business Paper. The prize is sponsored by the journal Critical Perspectives on International Business and the Emerald Publishing Group. Here are details of previous winners.
PrizeAlex-1024x642.jpgBest Critical Paper on International Business 2019, Ghazal Zulfiqar, Lahore University of Management Science, ‘’The Politics of Informality in Localizing Transnational Activism in the Homeworker Network

Best Critical Management Learning and Education Paper

The Division award for Best Critical Management Learning & Education paper is sponsored by the journal Management Learning.
Here are details of previous winners.

Best Critical Management Learning and Education Paper 2019, Kira Lussier, University of Toronto, ‘Motives, Managers, and Maslow: The Hierarchy of Needs in American Management, 1960-1985', (with Emma Bell and Todd Bridgman)


Best CMS Reviewer

An award is also made each year for the Best Developmental Reviewer in the Division. Best Developmental Reviewer Award 2019, Alexandra Bristow, The Open University and Mona Florian, IFES. Here are previous winners.

Doctoral Dissertation/Thesis Award

Each year we award a prize to an outstanding doctoral dissertation/thesis that draws on and contributes to CMS. If you have completed your doctoral dissertation/thesis in the specified time period in any of the fields associated with critical management studies do consider entering this competition. The award is sponsored by the journal Organization and Durham University Business School. Here are details of the competition and past winners.

Doctoral Dissertation Award Winner 2019, Paulina Segarra, EGADE Business School, ‘Neither Free Nor a Slave: Three Essays on Subjectivity, Organization, and the Making of Exile'

Best Paper in Critical Business Ethics

The Division award for Best Critical Business Ethics is sponsored by Journal of Business Ethics.

Best Paper in Critical Business Ethics 2019, Elena P. Antonacopoulou, Liverpool University, Regina F. Bento, University of Baltimore and Lourdes White , University of Baltimore,

'Why Didn’t the Watchdogs Bark? Internal Auditing and the Wells Fargo Scandal'