Distinguished Educator Award

The Distinguished Educator Award highlights the importance of good teaching in OMT and is intended to stimulate discussion on how to improve our impact on business students. This biennial award honors an OMT Division member who has made exceptional contributions to organization and management theory education. The purpose of the award is not to recognize excellent teaching, per se.  It is rather intended as a tribute to individuals who have positively influenced educational practices within the broader OMT field. This influence may take many different forms, including the design of new OMT-related courses, the authorship of widely used books or cases, the creation of new conceptual frameworks, and/or the development of innovative and widely-used educational techniques (e.g. management simulations).

2023 OMT Distinguished Educator Award

Ruthanne Huising
Emlyon Business School

Past Winners

2021 Damon Phillips, Columbia University

2019 Andrew Van de Ven, University of Minnesota

2017 Jane Dutton, University of Michigan. Watch her thank you speech here

2015 Henry Mintzberg, McGill Desautels Faculty of Management

2013 W. Richard "Dick" Scott, Stanford University

2011  Mary Jo Hatch, University of Virginia and Copenhagen Business School. Read the award announcement. Read an interview with Mary Jo Hatch.

2009  Richard Daft, Vanderbilt University