2019 OMT Doctoral Student Consortium

Michael Smets, Oxford University, michael.smets@sbs.ox.ac.uk; Lisa Cohen, McGill University, lisa.cohen2@mcgill.ca

Academy of Management Annual Meeting Boston, MA
August 9, 2019
Boston Hynes Convention Center in 306

Call for Nominations

Nomination Deadline: April 30, 2019

We are pleased to announce that the Organization and Management Theory (OMT) division will once again hold a Doctoral Student Consortium as part of the pre-conference activities at the Academy of Management Annual Meeting. Designed just for OMT members, the goal of this consortium is to orient doctoral students who are broadly interested in organizations and management as they enter the final phase of their doctoral programs. It helps prepare for the job market and plan future careers. We aim to help you make the most of your doctoral program, advance your research, consider how best to publish your research, find an academic job, manage your early career and, perhaps most importantly, establish professional networks with colleagues who share similar research interests.

The consortium will include panel presentations, discussion sessions, opportunities for personal mentoring and teaching roundtables. Faculty participants include:

  • Amit Nigam, Cass Business School, City University London
  • Aruna Ranganathan, Stanford Graduate School of Business, Stanford University
  • Beth Bechky, Stern School of Business, New York University
  • Brandy Aven, Tepper School of Business, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Chris Steele, Alberta School of Business, University of Alberta
  • Chris Yenkey, Darla Moore School of Business, University of South Carolina
  • Claudia Gabbionetta, Newcastle University Business School, Newcastle University
  • Derek Harmon, Ross School of Business, University of Michigan
  • Eva Boxenbaum, Copenhagen Business School
  • Evelyn Micelotta, Anderson School of Management, The University of New Mexico
  • Flannery Stevens, Villanova School of Business, Villanova University
  • Heeyon Kim, SC Johnson College of Business, Cornell University
  • Henri Schildt, Aalto School of Business, Aalto University
  • Henrich Greve, Insead Singapore
  • Jocelyn Leitzinger, College of Business Administration, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Joe Broschak, Eller College of Management, University of Arizona
  • Johan Chu, Chicago Booth School of Business, University of Chicago
  • Julia DiBenigno, Yale School of Management, Yale University
  • Ko Kuwabara, Insead Singapore
  • Marissa King, Yale School of Management, Yale University
  • Mark Kennedy, Imperial College Business School, Imperial College London
  • Marta Elvira, IESE Business School, University of Navarra
  • Maxim Voronov, Goodman School of Business, Brock University
  • Michael Jensen, Ross School of Business, University of Michigan
  • Raina Brands, London Business School
  • Royston Greenwood, Alberta School of Business, University of Alberta
  • Ruth Aguilera, D'Amore-McKim School of Business, Northeastern University
  • Santi Furnari, Cass Business School, City University London
  • Shipeng Yan, City University of Hong Kong
  • Siobhan O’Mahony, Questrom School of Business, Boston University
  • Thomas Roulet, Cambridge Judge Business School, University of Cambridge
  • Tim Werner, Texas McCombs, University of Texas at Austin
  • Tima Bansal, Ivey Business School, Western University
  • Tina Dacin, Smith School of Business, Queens University
  • Will Harvey, University of Exeter Business School, University of Exeter

The consortium is designed to allow for high levels of interaction between faculty and students. In order to maintain a high faculty/student ratio, space for this consortium is strictly limited. Interested students must be nominated by their schools and must be OMT members (either already or by joining now).

Doctoral programs should limit their nominations to one applicant. Universities with multiple departments seeking to send students must coordinate their nominations. Preference will be given to those students who have progressed to the dissertation stage and are either on the job market or considering being on the job market in the coming year. The deadline for nominations is April 30, 2019.


Nominations should be e-mailed by the department representative who nominates the student to the two consortium organizers:

Michael Smets michael.smets@sbs.ox.ac.uk Lisa Cohen lisa.cohen2@mcgill.ca.

The body of the e-mail should include:

  • The nominee’s name, address, e-mail address, and phone number,
  • Name of affiliated school and university,
  • Confirmation that the student is a member of the OMT division, and
  • A statement from the department certifying the nominee's completion of doctoral coursework

and comprehensive exams (or equivalent) by August 1, 2019.

  • Up to 5 keywords to describe the nominee’s area of research and research method(s)

Three supporting items should be attached to the e-mail:

  1. A brief letter from a faculty member providing a general appraisal of the nominee, including an assessment of his/her progress toward a dissertation defence, expected defence date, and subject of dissertation;
  2. A 1 page bio summarizing the nominee’s contact information, research and teaching interests, and publications; and/or working papers;
  3. A 3-5 page research summary of the student’s project on which they would like to receive feedback.

Students selected to attend the Consortium will be sent a registration code that will allow them to register online.

Additional information about the OMT Doctoral Consortium will be available on the OMT website. If you have questions or concerns, feel free to contact the OMT Doctoral Consortium organizers:

Michael Smets michael.smets@sbs.ox.ac.uk and Lisa Cohen lisa.cohen2@mcgill.ca.
Please note that the Doctoral Consortium begins with an opening reception dinner on the evening of Thursday, August 8, and ends Friday at 4:45pm on August 9, 2019. We look forward to seeing you at the AOM in Boston!

When:  Aug 9, 2019 from 07:30 to 16:00 (ET)