IM Award Winners 2017

The International Management Division recognizes excellence in scholarship, teaching, and service by conferring various awards on well-deserving members of the Division. Congratulations to all of the 2017 winners! Please see the IM Division’s website for details about each of the awards.

IM Division D’Amore-McKim School of Business, Northeastern University Best Dissertation Award

“Responses to Subpar Performance in Foreign Subsidiaries”
    • Vanessa C. Hasse, University of San Francisco (Ph.D. from Western University)

IM Division HKUST Best Paper in Global Strategy

“Multicountry and Multifirm Colocation: A Network Approach”
    • Minyoung Kim, University of Kansas

IM Division Best Paper in OB / HRM / OT

“How Language Diversity Affects Knowledge Processing in Multinational Team”
    • Helene Tenzer, University of Tübingen
    • Markus Pudelko, University of Tübingen
    • Mary M. Maloney, University of St. Thomas
    • Mary E. Zellmer-Bruhn, University of Minnesota

IM Division Best Qualitative Paper

“How Language Problems Affect International Academic Careers in Management”
    • Markus Pudelko, University of Tübingen
    • Helene Tenzer, University of Tübingen

IM Division Best Qualitative Paper - Highly Commended

“Resource Allocation in SME Internationalization: A Portfolio Theory Perspective”
    • Adeoye I. Adegorite, University of Waterloo
    • Rod B. McNaughton, University of Auckland

IM Division GWU-CIBER Best Paper on Emerging Markets

“Top Management Teams’ Political Connections, Corporate Governance and Internationalization”
    • Zhennan Wang, Syracuse University

IM Division Willamette University, Atkinson Graduate School of Management Best Paper in International Ethics, Social Responsibility, and/or Sustainability

“Strategic Corporate Social Responsibility in Multinational Enterprises”
    • Christian Geisler Asmussen, Copenhagen Business School
    • Andrea Fosfuri, Bocconi University

IM Division CGIO National University of Singapore Best Paper in International Corporate Governance

“The Role of Institutional Logics in Board Interlock Formation”
    • Kai Xu, University of Texas at San Antonio
    • Rose Ji Youn Kim,  University of Kentucky
    • Michael C. Withers,  Texas A&M University
    • Michael Dean Howard, Texas A&M University

IM Division Douglas Nigh Award

“Age-based Social Status, Team Safety Climate, and Innovation: Overcoming Culture with Team Effects”
    • Timothy R. Moake, University of Missouri
    • Nahyun Oh, University of Missouri
    • Clarissa Rene Steele, University of Missouri

IM Division CEIBS Best Paper Award 

“Keeping up with the Joneses: How Family Firms Navigate their Foreign Direct Investment”
    • Sebastian Fourne, Wilfred Laurier University
    • Miriam Zschoche, University of Erfurt

IM Division PWC Strategy& Eminent Scholar Award

Paul W. Beamish, Ivey School of Business, Western University

IM Division FIU Emerging Scholar Award 

Elena Kulchina, Duke University

IM Division Outstanding Service to the Global Community Award

Jean J. Boddewyn, Baruch College, City University of New York

IM Division Outstanding Educator Award 

Anil K. Gupta, University of Maryland
Yadong Luo, University of Miami

IM Division Best Reviewer Awards

  • Eren Akkan, IESE Business School
  • Jesper Edman, Hitotsubashi University
  • Jakob Müllner, Vienna University of Economics and Business
  • Estefania Amer, HEC Lausanne
  • Raquel García-García, The Open University
  • Karishma Nagre, University of Otago
  • Mark E. Barnard, Edgewood College
  • Maja Graso, University of Otago
  • Michael Nippa, Free University Bozen
  • Cordula Barzantny, Toulouse Business School
  • Vanessa C. Hasse, University of San Francisco
  • Daniela Noethen, Ramon Llull University
  • Ana Claudia Belfort, University Nove de Julho
  • Exequiel Hernandez, University of Pennsylvania
  • Manuel Anibal Portugal Ferreira, Nove de Julho University
  • Jean J. Boddewyn, City University of New York
  • Kate Hughes, National University of Ireland, Maynooth
  • Linda Rademaker, BI Norwegian Business School
  • Michal Budryk, Uppsala University
  • Makafui Kwame Kumodzie-Dussey, University Ca’ Foscari of Venice
  • Michael A. Sartor, Queen’s University
  • Daniel Richard Clark, Indiana University
  • Aude Le Cottier, HEC Montreal
  • Christopher Schlaegel, Maastricht University
  • Alvaro Cuervo-Cazurra, Northeastern University
  • John Mezias, University of Miami
  • Charles Edward Stevens, Lehigh University
  • Luis Alfonso Dau, Northeastern University
  • Marine Mograbyan, Imperial College Business School
  • Riki Takeuchi, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  • Henrik Dellestrand, Uppsala UniversityKatrin Susanne Muehlfeld, University of Trier
  • Gislaine Cristina Dos Santos Teixeira, Fundacao Getulio Vargas
  • Rian H.J. Drogendijk, University of Groningen
  • Michael Juergen Mueller, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Anna Zubkovskaya, University of Auckland