2023 AOM Award-Winners

MOC is proud to announce the winners of the 2023 MOC distinguished scholar, best paper, and best symposium awards. Congratulations to all the award winners and nominees!


Distinguished Scholar Award Winner


Sally Maitlis

Oxford University


Best Paper Winner


“Relational Infrastructures and Gig Workers’ Well-Being:

Building Social and Parasocial Interaction Ritual Chains”

Erin Reid, Brianna Barker Caza, Brittany Lambert, Steve Granger,

Elizabeth Nguyen Trinh & Jordan Nye


Best Student-Led Paper Winner


“Merger Failure as Self-Regulation Failure:

An Organizational Change Phenomenon in Merger Integration”

Sandor Talas, Andre Pekerti & Neal Ashkanasy


Best Paper with Practical Implications Winner


“Organizational Event Sensegiving in the Wake of Mega-Threat Events

and the Employee Psychological Contract”

Adaora Ubaka


Best Symposium Winner


“The Worker Perspective on AI across Occupational, Organizational, and Geographic Boundaries”

Organizers:  Elisabeth Yang, Julia DiBenigno & Batia Wiesenfeld


Phillips and Nadkarni Award for Best Paper on Diversity and Cognition Winner


“Women Perceive Incivility from Men as Gender Bias: Coping Responses and Boundary Conditions”

Grisel Lopez-Alvarez, Teresa Cardador & Simon Restubog


Denny Gioia Award for Best Qualitative Paper Winner


“Modes of Adjustment: There is More Than One Way to Organize for Resilience”

Brian Hilligoss, Jeff Larson, Alden Lai, Matthew DePuccio & Elena Wong


Best Paper in Entrepreneurial Cognition Winners


“Black and White Don’t Matter if you Speak Green… and other Inter-identity

Narrative Practices among Black Entrepreneurs”

Ambra Mazzelli, Robert Nason & James Carter


“Reframing Entrepreneurship: A Field Experiment on the Relative Efficacy of

Reflexive Vs. Habitual Framing for Entrepreneurial Education”

Charlene Zietsma, Angelique Slade Shantz, Geoffrey Kistruck, & Luciano Barin Cruz


Best Student-Led Paper in Entrepreneurial Cognition Winner


“Better Safe than Sorry: The Role of Team Design in New Venture Teams’ Escalation of Commitment”

Jannis von Nitzsch, Miriam Bird & Vangelis Souitaris