HCM Mid-Career Achievement Award

HCM Mid-Career Achievement Award

The HCM Mid-Career Achievement Award, established in 2022, recognizes a mid-career scholar whose distinguished contributions have advanced research, theory, and practice within the health care management (HCM) field. Mid-career is defined for this award as the period between early career (7 years post-doctoral degree) and Full Professorship or equivalent. Anonymous nominations will not be accepted, but individuals may self-nominate.

Eligibility Criteria:

·      Nominee must be an HCM Division member.

·     Nominee received a doctoral degree more than seven years before the Annual AoM Meeting. 

·      Nominee has yet to be named full professor or equivalent at the time of nomination.

·      Nominee may or may not have tenure, as time for tenure decisions varies across institutions.


Award Criteria:


·      A clear record of research excellence, such as:

o   publications in top management, healthcare management, or health services journals,

o   high citation counts,

o   high-impact authored books,

o   extramural funding, and

    • evidence that the nominee is providing scholarly leadership. Scholarly leadership can be demonstrated by developing new theories that are widely cited. Alternatively, it can be demonstrated by developing novel insights and methodologies fundamental to the HCM field in ways that citation counts may not capture. Finally, scholarly leadership may include evidence of high-quality mentoring of junior HCM scholars.

·       Evidence of the impact of the nominee’s research upon the practice and/or teaching of health care management, such as:

o   participation in prestigious committees, 

o   the inclusion of the nominee’s research in policy reports and guidelines, testimonies, and/or syllabi, and

o   keynote addresses for an esteemed practitioner audience,

    • the stature of the nominee vis-à-vis other scholars at similar career stages in the HCM field. Nominees will be evaluated relative to their peers at similar phases within the mid-career timespan.

Nominations should include:

  • A nomination letter that articulates why the nominee is deserving of the award with respect to the criteria listed above;
  • The nominee's current CV;
  • At least two letters of support that comment on the nominee's qualifications to receive the award; and
  • Copies of two published articles as examples of academic scholarship.


Award review process:

The Research Committee is responsible for the HCM Division’s Early Career, Mid-Career, and Provan Awards. Nominations are reviewed by sub-committees comprising at least three research committee members representing the Assistant, Associate, and Full Professor levels. The Research Committee chair ensures that no sub-committee member has a conflict of interest with the nominees. After individually reviewing the nominations, the sub-committee meets to discuss each nomination and vote to determine the awardee. The Research Committee chair oversees all sub-committee discussions to ensure a fair and transparent decision-making process.



2023 Ingrid Nembhard, The University of Pennsylvania
2022:  Sunita Sah, PhD, Cornell University