Keith G. Provan Distinguished Scholar Award

This award was established in 2012 to annually recognize a member of the Health Care Management Division who has developed a record of high-quality scholarly research in health care management. The research may be traditional or innovative, but it must demonstrate conceptual and methodological rigor. Nominations are sought from the membership. Anonymous nominations are not accepted, but individuals may self-nominate. The award is assessed on the following criteria: A record of high-quality scholarly research in health care management; a record of external funding; service as editor of a major journal or book series in health care management; and service as an editorial review member for major journals in healthcare management. As of 2013, the award is to be given on a biennial basis, with the exception of 2014 when it was awarded posthumously and renamed to honor the late Keith G. Provan, in recognition of his exemplary scholarship and numerous contributions to the Health Care Management Division.

Award Winners

2021: Ann Barry Flood, Dartmouth Geisel School of Medicine, Dartmouth College
2020: Jacqueline Zinn, Temple University
2019: Thomas D'Aunno, New York University
2017:   Douglas Wholey, University of Minnesota
2015: Lawton R. Burns, University of Pennsylvania
2014: Keith G. Provan, University of Arizona (in memoriam)
2013:  Stephen Shortell, University of California-Berkeley
2012:  Jeffrey Alexander, University of Michigan